You are using the documentation for version 4.3.8. Go here for the latest version.
Control Panel Location:
The ‘Anonymize user’ link opens a modal to confirm the anonymization of the member on that profile page. When a user is anonymized, all personally identifying information is wiped from the system including their IP, username and screen name, all custom field data unless it is explicitly marked as not usable to identify them. Channel entry data and comments are preserved with the author replaced by ‘anonymous<member_id>.
Anonymization is a good alternative to deleting a user when they wish to be removed from the site but doing so would compromise critical records, such as purchases in a store.
- Member Group: Super Admins